Posted by: Ophelia | April 2, 2008

It’s just the internet, right?

Here’s the article but I couldn’t help from picking out these quotes.

“The Standard can reveal that Nick Eriksen, the BNP’s London organiser and the second-highest candidate on its list for the Assembly, is the author of ‘Sir John Bull,’ a notorious far-Right blog which has regularly advocated hatred and abuse against women. The disclosure will be a serious blow to the BNP’s hopes of London electoral success.”

“On 24 August 2005, Mr Eriksen wrote: ‘I’ve never understood why so many men have allowed themselves to be brainwashed by the feminazi myth machine into believing that rape is such a serious crime … Rape is simply sex. Women enjoy sex, so rape cannot be such a terrible physical ordeal.'”

“To suggest that rape, when conducted without violence, is a serious crime is like suggesting that forcefeeding a woman chocolate cake is a heinous offence. A woman would be more inconvenienced by having her handbag snatched.”

“The demonisation of rape is all part of the feminazi desire to obtain power and mastery over men. Men who go along with the rape myth are either morons or traitors.”

“On 5 November 2005, in an item entitled ‘Give her a slap!,’ Mr Eriksen approvingly quoted Noel Coward as saying: ‘Some women are like gongs – they need to be struck regularly.’ On 8 November, he claimed that ‘the vast majority of domestic [assaults] are initiated by the woman.’ Mr Eriksen also wrote on 24 November 2005 that mothers “should never go out to work” and described career women as “unnatural and vile… it is a strange kind of woman who would want to invest [her] energies into her job rather than into a man.”

“Mr Eriksen insisted that he ‘did not condone violence in any way,’ but was ‘trying to highlight the fact that violence against men is unacceptable.’ He said: “It’s typical of the media to distort what the BNP say.'”

At least he’s apparently been sacked.

I’m going to save my color commentary for a simple FGSFDS (or “no words”).

This demonstrates the internet asshole theory quite nicely. We all know trolls that run around spouting views like this online, but it’s scary to think they’re out there in positions of power thinking this–but we know that they must be (the deputy leader of the party was defending him). It’s like he’s a caricature of himself. I need to have a sit.

FEMINAZIS?!

Okay, I’ve collected myself. Alright, how do people make it through the entirety of their education and lived experience thinking these things? How is it that people can maintain such narrowly focused world views in such a big world with multifarious experiences and people? How does one avoid unfamiliar experiences and knowledge AND manage to elevate one’s own experiences and knowledge as the only truth?

I need another sit.

 

Responses

  1. Wow…
    …wow.

    I’ve been called a feminazi before, which is funny, because I only began to identify as a feminist in mid-2007. But I speak up about issues and intolerance. So I am a feminazi?

    That was awful…
    The questions you have asked for that article are good ones. The people I have met who think like that (although not quite as violently, or loudly) seem to try to stay narrowly focused, because it makes them feel comfortable. The person who called me a feminazi, for example, went to a nearly all-white, Christian high school (with me), and goes to a college of nearly the same size and (non)diversity. His choices have made it easy for him to keep his world view narrow, and so he thinks things like being someone who advocates for women’s rights = feminazi.

  2. The whole mythology surrounding feminists that paints us as hairy legged, manhaters makes it easier for people to just dismiss what we have to say. I attend a fairly non-diverse school myself and deal with people like this every day but I still think that their ignorance is generally in part or in whole the result of their whims. They don’t really want to know any different, after all–feminism is dumb and why should they have to know about it? The fact that these viewpoints don’t generally make a big enough impact in the education of these people. I mean feminism shouldn’t be alternative theory, study about all of the “isms” has a place in education but they’re often shoved off to the side for a special month or day. It just boggles the mind. At the same time, I wasn’t always conscious about these issues and had to come into it. Things like this always make me wonder how we can better reach out and reach the people who aren’t reading these blogs or learning about these things in school.

  3. That’s a good point. I learned about feminism in school. How can I get someone, like my younger sister, for example, to become interested, when I know she is not going to study it (or read my blog, because it’s mine)? Same goes for all other “isms.” Very good question…

  4. The idea of consciousness raising really applies in situations like this. I mean it’s not just learning about feminism, it’s about making them aware, and it’s a multi step process. In my case, it started with a sort of inexplicable anger at the inequalities I was experiencing, but no means to express it. When I got to my first class that even included women as a topic, I felt like I had found my voice I suppose. I think the media is getting so interested in the blogosphere because it’s serving as a sort of classroom. People are coming in and reading the thoughts of other feminists and learning from them. But then there’s the wall about developing the interest that will get them to the baby feminist blogs.


Leave a Reply

Categories

