Posted by: Ophelia | April 4, 2008

“I hate the gooks,” McCain said yesterday

“I hate the gooks,” McCain said yesterday in response to a question from reporters aboard his campaign bus. “I will hate them as long as I live.”

“I was referring to my prison guards,” McCain said, “and I will continue to refer to them in language that might offend some people because of the beating and torture of my friends.”

McCain made it clear that his anger extends only toward his captors. As a senator, he was one of the leaders of the postwar effort to normalize U.S. relations with Vietnam.

Campaign officials do not expect the controversy to hurt McCain, either in tomorrow’s South Carolina primary or later in the campaign.

“If people understood the context, they wouldn’t be upset,” Mike Murphy, a senior adviser to the campaign, said last night.

Apparently this is from February 2000. Don’t worry though, he’s kept his slurs current(at least he apologized for this one). Non-snarky for a moment. He used tar baby in a non racist context and apologized, he used gook in a racist context and refuses to apologize. Food for thought. I’m not sure how the same people who flipped their shit over Rev. Wright can pardon McCain who actually uses racial slurs and refuses to apologize. Why isn’t this a bigger deal?

Responses

  1. It’s because he’s an old white man. Apparently it makes it ‘ok’ to be racist in that context.

  2. Ummm…if this hadn’t been the first place I’d heard of this, I would have made a huge deal about it. See, I have this idea about people in the spotlight being responsible with their words because I have this crazy idea that words can hurt people. Sorry. Unacceptable, McCain.

  3. […] 7, 2008 at 10:49 pm (Politics) Tags: Cunts, McCain Not only does McCain hate the gooks, but ladies who make fun of his thinning hair are […]

  4. Um, it’s okay because he was capture and tortured by the NVA. I believe he reiterated the sentiment in Garden Grove, California–one of the largest populations of Vietnamese-Americans in the country–and was, it must be said, warmly received.

    It does bring into focus a larger issue, that of senator McCain’s seeming plan to rehash the Vietnam Conflict in the desert.

    I don’t have a problem with McCain calling NVA prison guards Gooks, but I put forth that a man with the past in the past, looking forward, would not feel compelled to use that language.


Leave a Reply

Categories

