Posted by: Ophelia | April 7, 2008

Thinning hair is serious business.

Not only does McCain hate the gooks, but ladies who make fun of his thinning hair are cunts.

Three reporters from Arizona, on the condition of anonymity, also let me in on another incident involving McCain’s intemperateness. In his 1992 Senate bid, McCain was joined on the campaign trail by his wife, Cindy, as well as campaign aide Doug Cole and consultant Wes Gullett. At one point, Cindy playfully twirled McCain’s hair and said, “You’re getting a little thin up there.” McCain’s face reddened, and he responded, “At least I don’t plaster on the makeup like a trollop, you cunt.” McCain’s excuse was that it had been a long day. If elected president of the United States, McCain would have many long days.

Nice and well rounded slur vocabulary he has there.

I don’t have a problem with the word cunt, I say it and think it a lot, and it is part of my vocabulary. But I’m a fan of intent. Given the context of the situation, the intent of this word was to embarrass his wife. I noticed the use of the word trollop, so she’s a promiscuous female with a vagina–that sure showed her. One would think in this patriarchal society we have in the U.S that accusing your own wife of being a slut would embarrass you as well, but I don’t think McCain was thinking this. He came up with words that he felt would put her in her place. Prostitute, cunt. All this because of a long day? Long days breed this sort of disrespect? Does he have slurs in mind for any person within shooting distance during these long days?

Considering he never actually apologized, I don’t think the period of time between the infraction and revelation of said infraction really serves as an explanation or excuse for that kind of attitude. If there was any doubt about his unapologetic, casual, prejudice simply look above or to the post about his professed hatred of gooks.

Remember kids, if you use slurs that apply to an entire group, it’s okay as long as that’s not what you mean

Responses

  1. Thank you so much for bringing a voice of reason to the comments on my post on this topic. I am also a fan of intent, but sadly, the word cunt is rarely used without malicious intent (unless I am totally wrapped up in my own comfy bubble, and if you feel that way, please let me know). Why is it that way?

    Hmm…

  2. Well cunt is a word that women have been trying to proclaim, but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t carry its history. It’s meant to hurt. It’s similar to bitch in my mind. Women have reclaimed the word, it’s not necessarily painful but when it’s spit out at you–it’s retaliatory, it’s no longer empowering because they don’t mean it that way. They want it to hurt.

    Cunt is supposed to be one of the nastiest things you can call a woman. It boils her down to her constituent parts (namely her vagina) and then calls that part dirty. I noticed people in your blog rattling off names for men but I don’t know, they don’t pack the same punch. I mean male and female genitalia are coded differently –men can be proud of theirs, women aren’t supposed to talk about theirs (though this is changing through reclamation). Dick-head comes off like “jerk” and cunt…doesn’t. Additionally, it’s not something you call your wife, in public. Cunt is supposed to be embarrassing, cunt is supposed to hurt, to say it in public is supposed to hurt and embarrass the woman in question. I’m not sure why they don’t get that (and this is coming as someone who says cunt often–but not with malice). But I’m not naive enough to believe that just because I don’t say it with malice that others do not. My personal definition of words doesn’t trump what society says (unfortunately).
    Sorry for the essay!

  3. Technically, a ‘cunt’ is a vagina. Therefore, calling someone a ‘cunt’ insultingly is deriding all woman, insinuating that those with vaginas (or ‘cunt’ if you will) are innately inferior and something to be ashamed of.

  4. I would probably hate a group of people that kept me as a POW for years, but thats just me.

  5. I would think this is an extraordinary amount of time to hold onto hate, but it is understandable. What isn’t understandable is the hate speech. Despite what McCain wants to believe, words have meaning. Gooks applies to an entire group, not just his POW guards and he knows it—and refuses to apologize. It’s a lame excuse to use slurs. “Oh I didn’t mean all black people are niggers, just those niggers who live next door to me” wouldn’t fly and he’d be eaten alive. In fact, the fact that he apologized for “tar babies” when he used it in its historical context which wasn’t yet racist, means that he knows the power of words. I guess he doesn’t fear the gooks so he doesn’t think he has to apologize.

    The tone of this comment is tap dancing around “what’s the big deal” additionally, you haven’t provided any meaningful commentary besides trying to brush it off. Considering I just made a post regarding this sort of attitude last night, I approved this comment to give you a chance to explain yourself, rather than writing you off as a racism apologist. Care to elaborate?


Leave a Reply

Categories

