Posted by: Ophelia | April 9, 2008

I’m sorry, I just threw up a little bit in my mouth

Race vs. Gender 2008

I love the intro of twisted history that implies that it was Frederick Douglass who betrayed women by advocating the 15th amendment.

Some women even agreed with Douglas that it was o.k. for Black men to leave us behind instead of holding fast for suffrage.”

No acknowledgment regarding white women’s petitions for suffrage circling around the fact that they had given the vote to unworthy black men, and no mention of how they had absolutely no intention of allowing black women to gain the vote. The split she speaks of starts here, with the conscious overlooking of race all the while turning the matter into an issue of racial loyalty over gender.

“The current circumstances of race vs. gender are very much alive in spite of media denials. Just looking at the results of Super Tuesday one can see that Black communities were hands down for Obama. Meanwhile women, who are more than fifty-two percent of the population, did not do the same for their sisters.”

Women are 52% of of the population. What color women? You see, I am forced to ask because it appears she believes there is a cleave between race and gender. So all the blacks vote for Obama, all the women for Hillary. Excuse me, Ma’am. Where am I? For you see–I’m a black woman. Unfortunately for your thesis, I exist. And oh no, it’s not just me. You see as much as people are subject to the gender hierarchy, they are also raced. Women come in all colors of the rainbow. Blackness isn’t relegated to men alone. Your ignorance regarding this matter may be your first clue as to the source of this cleave. When you call upon us to support you on your rise to positions of power, all the while ignoring and minimizing our existence, we tend to get annoyed. Why is my womanhood less valid than yours to the point that its not worth note? Yet, you come to me, telling me I have no right to vote the way I do and feel the way I do about the issues that affect my life, issues you don’t even acknowledge. You presume to answer every woman’s problems with a single answer which is naive at best.

“They have abandoned us and instead have fallen for the charisma and charm of a Black male instead of the experience, dedication, and proven life’s work of a White female.Will it take losing Roe vs. Wade to get back that old camaraderie?”

I’m sure you think I’m far too stupid to understand. After all, you’ve said so much throughout the entire article, that Obama’s supporters are swept by his rhetoric, that he’s unqualified unlike Clinton who’s qualifications you don’t list. I’m sorry, but I thought feminism meant that my experiences and opinions wouldn’t be derided, that I would be respected–but apparently that’s only if I’m a white woman or a Hillary Clinton supporter. I really enjoyed your intimation that a vote for Barack Obama is a vote against Roe v. Wade despite his dedication to women’s rights and his high approval rating by women’s health organizations–nice fear mongering there.

You want me to stand in solidarity with people who pat me on the head, tell me not to think and simply to do what they know is best for me. Except, you don’t see me. You’re doing your best not to see me so you never have to question this disconnect. It’s easier to imagine that raced people are men, and women are all the same, all the while you barter with racial stereotypes and codes to get your message across. How do you think it sounds to me? Oh, that’s right, you don’t see me. I haven’t abandoned anything, that would imply that I was ever welcome.

The Kansas campaign also steered Stanton and Anthony away from arguing in the name of universal human rights to exploiting racist beliefs. Frustrated with the Republican Party’s refusal to back woman suffrage along with black suffrage, they struck an alliance with openly racist leaders of the Kansas Democratic Party who opposed black enfranchisement. Such tactics set the stage for Stanton’s assertions that women merited the vote more than did freed slaves and recent immigrants.

Elizabeth Cady Stanton: “If all men are to vote – black and white, lettered and unlettered, washed and unwashed, then the safety of the nation demands that we outweigh this incoming tide of ignorance, poverty and vice, with virtue, wealth and education of the women of the country.”

Anthony: The old anti-slavery school say women must stand back and wait until the negroes shall be recognized. But we say, if you will not give the whole loaf of suffrage to the entire people, give it to the most intelligent first. If intelligence, justice, and morality are to have precedence in the government, let the question of the woman be brought up first and that of the negro last.

Browsing through the speeches you can actually see the “any means necessary” ideology bloom and I believe it’s reared its ugly head in Senator Clinton’s campaign as well as her supporters.

If we’re going back to race versus gender, I know where I fall and know what my value is to them. (I’m reminded of Shirley Chisolm). Non white women simply don’t rate, except when they need our votes. Now they’re stamping their feet and gnashing their teeth, we have the nerve to vote for a man!They’ll never really know what went wrong, they can’t see past the ends of their noses.

Responses

  1. […] 8th, 2008 · No Comments Linda Sharp wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI’m sorry, but I thought feminism […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

