Posted by: Ophelia | April 28, 2008

Sunday Women’s health round up

This site is like wikipedia for me, I got sucked in and couldn’t get out.

Gene that can block the spread of HIV discovered.

Eating soy foods during puberty may protect against breast cancer.

Abortion pill compound prevents breast tumor growth. (The article is from ’06, anyone have updated info?)

Coffee may protect against breast cancer.

Copper may inhibit the transmission of HIV through breast milk and blood.

Vaginal bacteria gives clues for slowing HIV transmission

Medical model teaches students the art of gentle (gynecological) exams

Fruit bats discovered to have menstrual cycles


Responses

  1. Oh man!! Some of the words in this post would drive some of the trolls over at Female Impersonator insane! Puberty!? Breast!? Abortion!? Vaginal!? Gynecological!? Menstrual!?!?

    lol…sorry for the little rant.

    I really want to go read some of those links now. Especially the fruit bat one. That’s something I think about a lot (when it comes to animals – I want a female dog), but I don’t know who to ask! 🙂

  2. I wonder if those bats can heal hearts with their blood… we could have a human/bat hybrid heart making machine.

  3. And I just loved the article about the gynocological teaching assistant.

    “The students would be witnessing one of the world’s greatest marvels for the first time: the Grand Canyon, the pyramids of Egypt, my vagina.”

    Everyone should read that one!

  4. “I really want to go read some of those links now. Especially the fruit bat one. That’s something I think about a lot (when it comes to animals – I want a female dog), but I don’t know who to ask!”

    As I recall, dogs don’t have human like menstrual cycles because they go in and out of heat. Our dog, Snowwhite, needed to wear a diaper during her first period but after that figured out how to handle it herself–but I had never heard about it before.

  5. I’ve thought about being a gyno model. It sounds like good money and I’d be doing a service for women everywhere.


Leave a Reply

Categories

