Posted by: Ophelia | May 1, 2008

Spoon Theory

“Spoon Theory” is something that has really changed the way I’m able to explain my illness to people. I found Spoon Theory on But You Don’t Look Sick, a blog about invisible disabilities, and I haven’t found a better way to explain how it feels to be in chronic pain. (Fibrofog)

I thought this was really interesting, and something I’ve been thinking about recently. Chronic pain is something that most won’t experience and so means that those outsiders then attempt to define the experiences of those with it. But you don’t look sick‘s name appears to be a throw back to the typical disbelief that disability isn’t always visible, and asserts that there is no “look” to illness. Just like with all the other isms, people like to categorize and define, but not to listen. Spoon theory is a helpful way to explain things.

Responses

  1. I use that a lot .. i have Lupus and it helps ppl understand why I might be tired!


Leave a Reply

Categories

