Posted by: Ophelia | May 11, 2008

No, I’m not dead

But I am in the middle of finals. I’ve mentioned before that I was in the middle of a (short) thesis, but that didn’t keep it from kicking my butt. It’s about the maintenance of hegemony in the retelling of black women’s stories of rape in the black newspapers circa 1889-1910. I’m reminded of the FFX battle with Yunalesca, it started off mildly threatening, then got a bit harder until finally:

Anyway, I finally submitted the final draft on Friday, and I’ve got a forty minute presentation on it on Wednesday. This is also the date I trade in my school issued laptop. We’ve had a love/hate relationship–but I’ll be sad to see it go, along with my time in an undergraduate institution. I hope to still find time to post, but presumably there will be a bit more time in between posts while I save up for a new, hopefully shiny and not as temperamental laptop.

Is anyone else graduating? Getting swamped by finals? Fearing they’ll never see the light of day again?

Responses

  1. I’ve got to write a 15 page paper on ritual and participation in DeMille’s The Ten Commandments, pack and move my apartment in the next 10 days. Boo. Luckily it’s my last paper, but all my friends are done and celebrating the end of the year… I just want to finish so I can celebrate too. 😦

  2. Yeah me too :/, everyone else is finished and graduation is Saturday. I’m not finished until Wednesday + I need to find a job pronto. Or no more blogging until I do.


Leave a Reply

Categories

