Posted by: Ophelia | May 16, 2008

Okay, knock it off

I present to you: I know Black People–the CNN story

ATLANTA, Georgia (CNN) — Joshua Packwood knows what it’s like to be a minority. (This is where I should have stopped, but instead I pressed on)

“Because I’m one of the only white students, it’s easy to call me ‘the white boy,’ I’m naturally going to stand out,” says Packwood.

For those who don’t know him, what is surprising is that a Rhodes Scholar finalist turned down a full scholarship to Columbia University to attend the all-black men’s university. (Because who would want to go to a Historically Black College/University if they don’t have to amirite?)

This came naturally to Packwood, who attended a predominantly black high school.

“A large majority of my friends, like all my girlfriends have been minorities,” says Packwood. “So it was very, it was kind of strange that I always kind of gravitated to the black community.” (Fans self–truly, he is the wave of the future)

Adolescence was rough. His mother’s second marriage to a black man ended in divorce and family tension forced him to seek refuge with his best friend’s family – who were black and middle-class.

“I gained this interest in African-American studies and I thought that Morehouse would probably be the best experience,” says Packwood. “I think of it in terms of ‘study abroad.’ If I really want to learn it, if I really want to understand it – maybe it’s best if I immerse myself in the culture.”

“One guy came up to me and told me — he didn’t like the fact that I was here,” recalls Packwood. “He absolutely didn’t like the fact that I dated black women.”

“I think that it should be a wake-up call to an all black campus,” says Muhammad. “At Morehouse we’re supposed to be at the top as black men. We only have a few white students and to see a white student will rise to this – is something unsettling to me because it shows that we need to work harder.”

Okay, so constant attempts to explain his connection to the black community? Check

Details about his “chiseled” good looks and how he’s managed to best all the darkies on campus? Check

I don’t know about you, but I really enjoyed the idea that black culture is a monolith and furthermore, it’s foreign and being immersed in it is like study abroad. A++++++++ Way to immerse yourself in “black culture” for at least four years, and come out patting yourself on the back for doing so. Clearly, he’s learned a lot.

Responses

  1. What he has not admitted but what is clear to anyone with eyes is that he is on some kind of voyeuristic journey. He is studying blacks from a position of unacknowledged privilege while treating us as objects. From my interpretation of everything that he has says it seems that he needs to re-rake his degree because he came away without a fundamental understanding of his social positioning vis a vis the black community. White is a race too you know, we just don’t acknowledge it as such.

  2. That is fucked!

    Yeah so a few hours a day when you are in class, you are a “minority,” but for the rest of your time and the rest of your life you are eating out the ass of institutional privilege!

    I can’t even react to all warped shit in that article! CNN needs a fucking paradigm check!

    This is infuriating!

  3. Argh! Sorry to spam you here, but I was just reading the comments on that story. Where do these people come from? I am so pissed! Let’s cover things we’ve learned from this article and responses:

    1) Neglecting the sanctity of institutions by and for people of color makes white people proud.

    2) White men can validate their homeboy status by sleeping with women of color.

    2a) This deserves to be mentioned multiple times in a professional news article.

    3) White people see no different between white people succeeding in predominantly black institutions and black people succeeding in predominantly white institutions.

    3a) This sentiment is wildly racist, as it implies a complete unawareness of institutionalized oppression–the context of a single institution is never separate from the broader horizon of institutions and the social structure inside of which it exists.

    4) White people love to talk about Dr. King’s dream whenever possible.

    5) White people think black people are exotic and interesting.

    6) This article was clearly written by a white journalist for a white audience. The “other” tone is almost palpable.

    Sorry, that’s enough. I am just fucking pissed about this.

  4. Jack I agree with every single point you mentioned on that list. I would add to it, but it would set me off on a rant from which I am afraid I would not be able to stop.

  5. Wow, CNN is worthless. To promote the idea that this guy’s experience of having one person openly disapprove of his relationship and presence on the campus – no threat of violence – is somehow the same as being faced with the sort of discrimination that actually impacts your life on a regular basis… both the writer and the editor have got to be either stupid or, worse, banking on winning readers by giving people a safe-space for expressing their racism.

    People try to use this sort of ‘reverse racism’ sob story from time to time as a sort of justification for racism. “I once couldn’t get served for a long time at a restaurant where I was the only white guy” and “A friend of mine got treated more roughly on the basketball court because he was white” are two that have been said in my presence over the last few months. People can be real creeps. To use the national media for this is really gross.

  6. It reminds me of National Geographic documentaries, where you have the narrator talk about the subject animal with complete emotional disconnection. FAIL.

  7. You know it sickens me to see fellow members of my black community so vehemently hostile towards Caucasians. Do I smell reverse racism and resistance to white people in a black community?

    A black man is running for president.

    I think it’s time we laid down the victim mentality and moved for unity and equality. Not anger and racism and jealousy.

  8. Reverse racism, for the win!

  9. Reverse racism is a myth. For racism to be ‘reverse’, there would have to be a proper direction for it to go in. So it’s ‘correct’ racism for a caucasian man or woman to hate african americans or latinos? Racism is racism, there IS no reverse racism, since it’s wrong no matter which way it goes.

    As for this example, I’d agree if I could hear what the case was from the African American man. It’s possible the white guy was a dick in the first place.

  10. This article has been ALL over the blogosphere for at least three weeks.

    It is so amazing to those of us who were black on all-white campuses that we never made national news at graduation time for being SOOOOO enlightened about whites and SOOOOO brave and SOOOOO progressive for being able to go through the all-white experience as a black person. The white media doesn’t seem to think it’s SOOOO bold and SOOOO courageous when black people enter all-white settings and succeed.

    Where was the national press when Barack Obama became the first black president of Harvard Law Review?

    Thanks for letting me blow my trumpet!
    Lisa

  11. JH, I disagree with you.

    Racism is an institutional entity. When people say “reverse racism,” say, in reference to black on white prejudice, they are simply talking about prejudice. Prejudice can come from any group and be directed toward any group.

    Racism, however, is part of an institution which privileges certain groups, and oppresses others. White folks, males, people with money, and people who are sexually attracted to the opposite sex are all institutionally privileged.

    The term “reverse racism” is itself racist, because it pretends that racism is simply something that occurs between autonomous individuals, when, in reality, racism is a vast system of oppression acting in nearly every facet of society.

  12. Ladies, the boy specifically said that, being a Morehouse man allows him to bring a specific perspective to the other situations. Obviously, he was referring to the work place.

    It’s no surprise he went an HBCU, considering his step-father is black, his siblings are mixed, his best friends were black, his high school was black, all the girls he has dated were black. I mean he made the same decision a black guy would make; Columbia U vs Morehouse; most middle class black men would take Morehouse. I earned a undergrad and graduate degrees from two HBCUs, and my friends who attended the majority schools always say if they had to do it again, they would the HBCU experience. It’s nothing like it, they love you, nurture you, and demand success. We are the ambassadors of our schools and all the people before us; even the nonblack ones. After going to an HBCU you will never be an individual again, you will be apart of a family no matter where you go. I could go to the end of the earth and I bet there would be someone coming about an iglue who went to howard to greet me. So I guess “Tom Cruise” is in the family now:-).

    Don’t sweat the small stuff. He is an investment banker. I wouldn’t be surprised if we see him in Jet magazine in the newlywed section with a Spellman wife in a few years.

    Finally, there has always a a white guy at Morehouse through the years. When I was in school in the late 80’s there was white guy at Morehouse who A-PHI-A. When he graduated there was spread in Ebony magazine. Yes he projected the Morehouse man training and mantras also.

  13. “Reverse Racism” is like calling a woman that’s uncomfortable around men after she was raped “sexist”. It has more in common with survival instinct or pessimism than real racism. It’s not like a black person generally wields enough power to manipulate the privileges of a white person.

  14. I agree with you Jack on the idea of racism vs. prejudice, but it isn’t an argument that most are willing to accept. I gather that’s why JH shies away from those definitions in his explanation.

  15. Jessica, my issue is with the overwhelming tone coming from the article. When I heard this guy speak in an interview with yet another interviewer who was shocked that he would choose and HBCU, he didn’t come off as a jerk. He seemed like someone who did understand the world around him in regards to race and he did come off as intelligent. This article, however, doesn’t fly with me. It seems aghast that a white man would ever choose such a school, as if it has nothing to offer. It seems duty bound to justify his attendance with his relationships with blacks in his personal life. I’ve got no beef with the guy, now that I’ve heard his point of view, but articles like this do nothing to erase the “otherness” blacks are given in media accounts.

  16. The white media doesn’t seem to think it’s SOOOO bold and SOOOO courageous when black people enter all-white settings and succeed.

    Thanks for articulating yet another thing that’s been grating me. Then again, the way the media portrays schools, of course a white school would have nothing but good to offer a black student–but why on earth would a white student want to go to a black college! It’s just…stupid.

  17. I’m not even going to bother being “PC”, if you got a problem with what I say, sue me.

    You know what all your resentment and victim-mentality is doing?

    Perpetuating the stereotype.

    “I r the poor black man! Gimme a handout! Pay fer mah SCHOOLIN’, yo! The system r so racist cuz i r poor! Kill whitey yo, cuz he got a dolla’!”

    Pay for my schooling and give me a few handouts based on my skin color so I can become a doctor and then stand up proudly and say “I am a black man who made it in a white world! Thanks Daddy Government!”

    Pssssh.

    Black kid punches a white kid. White kid beats up black kid. OMG, I CAN HAS HATE CRIME CHARGE?! “yo, this white dude be racist yo, he be beatin’ up black peeps- all cuz they black!”

    The whole “omg racism” is getting very, very old, and all your rhetoric and naval gazing on the term “reverse racism” to avoid the real issue (that you guys are racist against whites) just reveals the burning bitterness and resentment you have.

    What’s holding black people down? It’s not the Man. It’s their burning, bitter resentment towards white people.

    Why don’t you attack CNN- they’re the racists with how they present this article. They barely quote the dude they feature.

    You’re not happy when KKK marches through town, for obvious reasons.
    But you’re also not happy when a white man identifies closely with black culture and seeks to understand it and learn more about it.
    And you also don’t like when a white person falls all over himself to prove that he’s not racist- then you start crying about “tokenism”.

    Shit, the way some of you people (“omg he say “you people”, he othered us, that racist) are acting is enough to turn a nice dude into a racist. And when a white person stands up about how a black dude called him a “stupid cracka” you go “Oh boo hoo, how do you like it?” and you think you’ll garner respect, support, and acceptance?

    Of course, I doubt this will get published, cuz I hit a little too close to some nerves and reality, but whatever.

  18. “But you’re also not happy when a white man identifies closely with black culture and seeks to understand it and learn more about it.”

    That’s funny, I don’t recall saying that. I’m attacking the way his relationship within the community is presented as justification for his school choice. People are free to choose whatever they want, you don’t have to know a black person, date a black person, or be related to a black person to go to an HCBU. The tone of the article is about how amazing it is that a white guy would choose such a place which is bullshit of the highest order.

    No one can turn you into a racist. It’s up to you to realize the truth of the situation and if your little feelings get hurt when people are able to see through the shit to the heart of the article that says “Why would a white guy want to go to this school anyway?” that’s your problem and no one elses. I think you live in your own reality but please, save this shitty attitude for your own blog. You’re attacking other posters and putting words in their mouth and if I didn’t know any better, I would think that you’re the one whose nerves have been hit a bit too close to home.

    “The whole “omg racism” is getting very, very old, and all your rhetoric and naval gazing on the term “reverse racism” to avoid the real issue (that you guys are racist against whites) just reveals the burning bitterness and resentment you have”

    Funnily enough one of the people discussing it happens to be white, but keep on keeping on with the assumptions. If you can’t address what’s being said and need to depend on presumptions, don’t bother responding.

    Btw. I’m still waiting for my supposed government handouts. I mean apparently all I needed to do was be born black and suddenly the world would be presented on a silver platter am I right? Unfortunately I live in the real world where I have to deal with assholes just like you who presume that I didn’t get where I am by my own merit but by “daddy government”. The only thing the government gave me was $20,000 in big fat loans that have to be repaid within 10 years.

    You want to talk about victim mentality, sounds like you think brown people get benefits that you don’t. Maybe you should ask one, seriously, it’s not a big conspiracy. If you want to believe that it’s a regular old government hand out jamberoo, feel free. But don’t present your views as reality.

    Also, nice touch on the attempt at mimicking black speech–great way not to seem racist.

    Additionally, don’t presume to tell me how I run the blog. I make my own decisions about what stays and goes, but frankly don’t be surprised if nothing else you post gets out since you’ve decided to reveal yourself as the poor pitiful white man, put upon by uppity darkies who have the temerity to question a CNN article. Save it for someone who cares in the future, thanks.

  19. “I think you live in your own reality but please, save this shitty attitude for your own blog. You’re attacking other posters and putting words in their mouth and if I didn’t know any better, I would think that you’re the one whose nerves have been hit a bit too close to home.”

    Everyone lives in their own reality. Big deal.

    You’re attacking me and putting thoughts in my head. Oh well.

    And if I didn’t know any better, I would think that you just hate when people ask hard questions and look at things in a hard way.

    “The only thing the government gave me was $20,000 in big fat loans that have to be repaid within 10 years.”

    Student loans are known as “soft loans”- why? Cuz they’re easy. You don’t need to put up collatoral. You get a very low interest rate. The government subsidizes your interest as well for the entire time you’re in school. When you leave school, interest doesn’t kick in for 6 months. Also, by going to school you are being given the means to repay the loan- job skills, and often times you are even given much aid in finding a job.

    So, in essence, the government is giving you loan and then holding your hand in paying it back.

    10 years to repay a loan. It’s so hard. Oh no, you’ll have to keep your expenses low (and your lifestyle modest) for 10 years while you repay your big fat loans. Oh no, you’ll have to live like the dirty poor people who have to keep their living modest while you repay it! No!

    “Additionally, don’t presume to tell me how I run the blog.”

    Never did.

    “you’ve decided to reveal yourself as the poor pitiful white man”

    I’m hispanic, and I make it on my own in this horrible racist world, “but keep on keeping on with the assumptions.”

    Thanks a bunch. And no, I wouldn’t be surprised if nothing else I say gets published, because I r so threteneenk to u.

  20. “So, in essence, the government is giving you loan and then holding your hand in paying it back.”
    Yes, holding my hand by threatening to garnish wages if I don’t come up with 700 a month right out of an undergrad degree I’m sure.
    “dirty poor people who have to keep their living modest while you repay it! No!”
    Way to go insinuating my privilege when I know people who’ve had their whole way paid. If I hadn’t received a scholarship from the institution, there’s no way I would have been able to attend the institution I went to. Sorry but I’m one of those icky poor people whose parents never went to college and demanded I take on the debt to “better myself” bawwwwww.

    Please tell me some more about how you picked yourself up by your bootstraps, it’s such a lovely story. Also lovely shot at the misspellings, it really displays your maturity level and the respect you have for others so well.

    “And if I didn’t know any better, I would think that you just hate when people ask hard questions and look at things in a hard way.”
    Saying “why are black pephul so meeeN? (See I can do it too)” is no where near a hard question. It just shows an arrogance and an ignorance. You want to believe that we all sit around shining our rims instead of going out and being somebody. You’re entitled to your opinion, just don’t come at me like you know better than I when you haven’t spend a milisecond in my shoes. You don’t know as much as you think you do and I’m sure that’s threatening. So why don’t you ask yourself–why are you so afraid that the answers aren’t as simple as you think?

    More importantly, why did you look at a blog post about a shitty article and turn it into a tirade about the big mean white man? You saw what you wanted and responded to that. People responded to you with respect and common sense and you couldn’t deal. Please. Go out, look into the matter, you’ll be surprised about what you find.

    You’re not threatening. You’re boring. You’re so boring that Tim Wise has essays that tear down your exact logic. I really wish racists would try harder to bring something to the table, something fresh at least. “Black people are lazy” wow, did you come up with that thought yourself? That shit’s been around since before slavery. Please, come up with something that I haven’t heard before.

    Oh and if you could explain what any of your logic has to do with the CNN article, I’d be much obliged.

  21. “Yes, holding my hand by threatening to garnish wages if I don’t come up with 700 a month right out of an undergrad degree I’m sure.”

    Imagine that! If you don’t give them their money back, they’ll take it from you! Oh no. That right there is discrimination; we have to do something about it, it’s so unfair to undergrads.

    You have 6 months to find a job and start making payments, and in many cases the government finds the job for you.

    Your hand is being held.

    You can’t “logic” or grandstand your way out of that one.

    “Way to go insinuating my privilege when I know people who’ve had their whole way paid. If I hadn’t received a scholarship from the institution, there’s no way I would have been able to attend the institution I went to. Sorry but I’m one of those icky poor people whose parents never went to college and demanded I take on the debt to “better myself” bawwwwww.”

    So you’re saying attending Uni or college is not a “privilege”? I failed to read the ammendment where it said everyone had the *right* to a higher education?

    So you’re not *as* privileged as others; ie, the government didn’t hold your hand as much as your friends’, so therefore you are not privileged *at all*?

    Riiight.

    An example of a yuppy American complaining about their horrible lot in life.

    “Please tell me some more about how you picked yourself up by your bootstraps, it’s such a lovely story.”

    Hey at least I don’t whine about “whitey”.

    “Also lovely shot at the misspellings, it really displays your maturity level and the respect you have for others so well.”

    I didn’t take a shot at any misspellings, and I could care less if you misspell a word. Why do you feel the need to make stuff up now?

    “More importantly, why did you look at a blog post about a shitty article and turn it into a tirade about the big mean white man?”

    I thought I was whining about “big mean black men” lol

    “You’re not threatening. You’re boring. You’re so boring that Tim Wise has essays that tear down your exact logic. I really wish racists would try harder to bring something to the table, something fresh at least. “Black people are lazy” wow, did you come up with that thought yourself? That shit’s been around since before slavery. Please, come up with something that I haven’t heard before.”

    Yes because that is exactly what I said, black people are so lazy. If I’m so boring you wouldn’t even bother replying- unless you have *absolutely nothing to do*.

    lol

    I guess you failed to read the part where I tell you I’m hispanic. Unless you ignored that part because it puts a little chip in your whole stance.

    Thanks again! Kudos.

  22. I’ve got to say declaring that I’m a yuppie has to be the funniest accusation I’ve ever had lobbed at me on the internet.

    I noticed you pointed out that you’re hispanic, but you see I just don’t care. You’re still prejudiced. Oh oh oh I love how you defend white people against my imaginary attacks, its very noble of you.

    I also love the implication that I have no idea what a privilege it is to attend college–when I come from a family wherein only one other person has ever graduated. Please tell me more of my socio-economic status, I long to hear it.

    Actually I don’t have much to do, I just graduated–my first interview isn’t until tomorrow so this has been mildly entertaining. You’re so good at guessing things–can you tell me what my complete racial makeup is? How much does my father make a year? Have I ever played tennis? Am I urban or suburban? Did I go to public school in my youth or not? How many siblings do I have? Does my family live in a house or an apartment? Please, oh please tell me. I’m so anxious to know more of myself. I already know I’m apparently a yuppie who the government has just handed money to in a completely fair arrangement with no variable interest. Oh can you tell me which student loans I have? I’m sure you can guess in your infinite wisdom.

    Finally, can you tell me what this has to do with the racially charged CNN article? Again, I’d appreciate it.

  23. “I’ve got to say declaring that I’m a yuppie has to be the funniest accusation I’ve ever had lobbed at me on the internet.”

    Riiight riiight. And tomorrow you’ll say something to similar to someone else. Please. *rolls eyes*

    “I noticed you pointed out that you’re hispanic, but you see I just don’t care. You’re still prejudiced. Oh oh oh I love how you defend white people against my imaginary attacks, its very noble of you.”

    Lollercopter. Yes, I am so prejudiced because I point out all the crappy subtle racism and victim mentality of my fellow minorities. Yes, I r so raceest men!!!!11!!!

    “I also love the implication that I have no idea what a privilege it is to attend college–when I come from a family wherein only one other person has ever graduated. Please tell me more of my socio-economic status, I long to hear it.”

    Bla bla bla, going to college/Uni is a privilege, I don’t need to “insinuate” your privilege nor do I need to tell you “more of your socio-economic” status- you’ve told enough already

    You’re in college/Uni. You’re a yuppy. “”young upwardly-mobile professional”” Unless you’re either 1) not young, and 2) sought a higher education to work your way *down* the ladder.

    LOL

    “Actually I don’t have much to do, I just graduated–my first interview isn’t until tomorrow so this has been mildly entertaining.”

    What a coincidence! You know, I pointed out to a young lady one time that with her attitude, she won’t find many men to date- and what a coincidence, this was on her *five year anniversary* with her boyfriend! Amazing. The internet is so full of these amazing coincidences. Truly, life is a mystery, beautiful and grand.

    “I’m so anxious to know more of myself. I already know I’m apparently a yuppie who the government has just handed money to in a completely fair arrangement with no variable interest. Oh can you tell me which student loans I have? I’m sure you can guess in your infinite wisdom.”

    All the sarcasm in the world will not change the fact that
    1) Yes, you are a yuppy
    2) Yes, the government did help you and hold your hand like a Gigantic Collective Daddy Figure

    “Finally, can you tell me what this has to do with the racially charged CNN article? Again, I’d appreciate it.”

    Let me guess, if I don’t answer, you censor me for trolling? I *was* talking about the articles, and reactions I noticed to it, however, *you* decided to make it personal and get all defensive about it. *shrugs*

  24. Um, no you weren’t discussing the articles. You’re first comment was about 5 words long, your subsequent comments were about the commentors discussing reverse-racism. You never wanted to discuss the implications of the article, only the mean black people mentioned within. So, in fact, I do think you’re a troll. Since I’ve asked twice now for you to relate your comments to the article and you’ve been unable to do so. I guess you don’t see the problem in using a racist article to base your argument about “subtle racism and victim mentality of my fellow minorities,” right?

    In short, you don’t know anything more than the fact that I attended college–and some of my government loans–none of my private though. You don’t know where I live, how much money I make/don’t make but you lob accusations about my “mobile status”. I don’t think those who work in the public interest would be termed upwardly mobile but that’s not at issue. Your presumptions are awkward but necessary to prop up your arguments, which makes you sound like a troll. You decided to start attacking commenters, so I fired back, nothing more. This isn’t a place for you to give lipservice to the chip on your shoulder about black people. It’s about a crap commentary on a rather nice young man courtesy of CNN–which you can’t seem to comment on. So, yeah, you do fall into the troll category. I’m sure in your own mind you’re making brilliant points and summarily putting me in my place, but in reality, you just want to complain about black people in a post that really isn’t for that and in a blog that will never be for that. You’ve perceived attacks to whiteness that don’t exist while ignoring the ones pointed at the article and the voiced opinions therein that are completely merited. It seems that you are unable to talk about the issue at hand and I’ve got to hand it to you, you’re only the second person I’ve ever had on this blog who has had this deficiency. Now, I don’t want to blow up the comment count, making people think there’s more honest commentary than there is. I’m sure you could defend yourself all day, but I’ll have to ask you to refrain unless you’ve got something to say about the post–not about your problems with other minorities.

  25. LOL “defend yourself all day” – all I ever said was that I make it on my own steam and I don’t hate to complain about racism nor get all riled up over some white dude like everyone else is. You on the other hand are being so defensive about the fact that you are a yuppy and the government held your hand through college. You have drifted this discussion to one topic: Yourself. You vs Me and you have been on the *defensive* the entire time, all the while trying to take little jabs at me. Sad, all because I have a different reaction to the article.

    Yes, I am unable to comment on the article “Why don’t you attack CNN- they’re the racists with how they present this article. They barely quote the dude they feature.” <– because I never said that at all. If you scroll up you will not see that in my comments. I swear.

    Oh and by the way, “They eat from the same dishes and sleep in the same beds, but they seem to be operating in two different economies. From last November through this April, American women aged 20 and up gained nearly 300,000 jobs, according to the household survey of the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS). At the same time, American men lost nearly 700,000 jobs. You might even say American men are in recession, and American women are not.

    What’s going on? Simply put, men have the misfortune of being concentrated in the two sectors that are doing the worst: manufacturing and construction. Women are concentrated in sectors that are still growing, such as education and health care.”

    Public Interest = upwardly mobile.

    K,thx, speared.

  26. That’s cute that you think all of the public interest is education and healthcare and the mean old women are going up while the men are left behind. I’m not defensive. You see, I don’t have to defend myself to trolls who make sweeping assumptions based on the information I feed them. I’m sorry you take attacks on your logical fallacies as “little jabs”, in the future I’ll try to be more gentle. You know you responded with the intent to offend, your little jab at “PC” indicates this. “they barely quote the dude they feature” was in the context of “why don’t you complain about CNN” which, unfortunately the blog post and comments do. Again, you heard what you wanted and decided to whine about the mean minorities who hate whitey when not one person white or not uttered such a phrase or espoused such an ideology. Making up arguments for the sake of arguing against them is called a straw man argument. You’ve been engaging in this since your first “reverse racism for the win”. Unless of course reverse racism is pointing out the racism of a media outlet–then continue. I really don’t care about your opinions about my supposed yuppihood, or my intended occupation (of which I’ve provided you only the most general of gists about). You only know the bait I’ve given you. I’m sure its fun to presume to know my situation based on the information, but the problem is that I’m not at issue. No, your shitty attitude about how lazy black people are and why do they hate whitey when the government does so much for them–was at issue because you made it so. You’ve in no way provided a reason why this conversation has any place in the context of the post.

    I’ve really tried to be patient, I haven’t deleted your posts despite their lack of any stimulating or helpful content. But really. At this point, even you must realize that you’re just trolling.

    Giving a one line nod to the article is not discussing it when its contained with racist vitriol directed at the imaginary enemies of whites within this blog. Save it for someone else.

    You’ve already acknowledged that the article was racist, you’re the one who drove to this topic and now you’re mad that I don’t agree. If you would like to discuss it further, I welcome you start your own wordpress blog, or send an email. I’ve got plenty of resources at hand that I think might be helpful in such a conversation. The time is not now, and the place is not here and if you were interested in a genuine discussion, you wouldn’t have started by stepping on the collective feet of all the commenters and the owners of the blog.

    Just to forewarn, I will delete any further grudgy responses because again, you’re not offering anything. Now, if the post was about “Why I’m a yuppie” or “Those darkies sure are lazy” your arguments would have a place. I won’t allow the constant derailing of posts and that is stated in the comment policy. So, you’re not a special case for “getting to me” or threatening me. I would be fulfilling the stated comment policy to delete all of your posts past your first along with my responses for the sake of being on topic, and I may yet do so. I would rather not–mostly for the sake of maintaining the memory of the second troll to ever troll feminocracy.

  27. I actually shied away from combining ‘reverse racism’ and prejudice because in a strict, dictionary definition, they are two different things, and they represent two different things. To me, reverse racism is more like an illogical fear that some white people have, which to them gives them justification to hate and fear others. Prejudice of black people towards white people still exists, and can still be a bad thing. However, that’s not what the posts here where about.

  28. outcrazyophelia, nice work

    blasphemer, I suggest you look into the concept of “colorism,” as it seems possible you are assuming that all people of color have shared your experience


Leave a Reply

Categories

