Posted by: Ophelia | June 12, 2008

Casting the net

I think there’s a need for more writers for this blog. I’d like more diversity in the topics, and I feel that I’ve been failing as far as disability, homosexuality, and non black/white issues. If anyone would feel comfortable taking up the mantle and perhaps cross posting from their own blogs of posting exclusively here, you can leave a message here or send an email to feminocracy@gmail.com (durrr, edited).

I’m going to be starting law school in August. I’m currently unemployed but can’t keep my eye on everything, likewise, Manafanana is working full time until September. So, if you’re as bored as I am with a few posts a week, get in touch, tell us your ideas and send a link to your blog or writing.

Just shoot an email or if you want, fill out the contact form (just click the contact us tab and you’ll find it).

Responses

  1. I’d be interested in doing some cross-posting, although I’m not sure I really touch on the areas you’re looking to include. I’m not sure your audience necessarily wants my posts concerning academia, for example.

    I actually would like to make more of an effort to write about not just homosexual but transgender issues as well, I just haven’t taken the time to start doing the research. (Also I don’t personally identify as either of these groups, so you might want to go with someone with more firsthand experience).

    But since you’re familiar with what I’m writing, if I’ve been posting stuff you think would work with Feminocracy, I’d be happy to join up.

  2. Actually I think your focus on academia is interesting. I wanted to make sure that if people were cross posting they wouldn’t feel obligated to produce content specifically for this blog–I don’t want to overburden anyone. But, I think if your posts about academia dealt in any way with feminism or racism, ageism, ableism, or more, we’d be more than happy to have them here. Likewise, your posts about engagement/marriage/relationships would be welcome. If you’d be interested, send an email and we can work out the details.

  3. Man, if I hadn’t started my own blog, I would definitely want to contribute to this one, although my writing doesn’t really fit into what you’re looking for, either.

  4. Well keep in mind those are the areas that I know we’ve been slacking on and it would be nice if someone could help bail us out. Also, there’s always cross posting. I’ve noticed that Female Impersonator has a good grasp on personal stories that relate to feminism and I think they would be nice to have once in a while too. Give it a think over–I know you guys are busy.

  5. Ophelia, of course I love your blog and would be excited to be featured on it from time to time.

    This is a good conversation to be having right now too, since a lot of us will have to decide in the coming months if we want to maintain our own blogs, join up with Feministing as diarists, or try to do both. I’ve never been sure how I felt about cross-posting though. It creates more work for the writer to keep track of how people are responding to her ideas, and the blog’s administrator runs the risk of having her site become a carbon-copy of another.

    Having said that, a lot of blogs I LOVE mainly post links with a brief quote and a brief commentary. Alas, a blog and Feminist Law Professors both mix some longer posts with tons and tons of short posts that send readers to news articles and other blogs. There are fewer comments on these sites – people generally hold their remarks for the original posts – but the traffic is pretty high, I believe. I know that getting linked by FLP is about as good for traffic as getting linked by Feministing, so they must be doing alright.

    So, what would you like your blog to be – a place for readers to find op-ed style articles, or a site that people come to for brief commentary and links on a wide range of topics? If you let other people have a hand in Feminocracy, what would your expectations of them be?

  6. To be honest, I’ve never been one for link posts–they just don’t feel right to me. If I come across something that’s self explanatory or its a good discussion of an issue I think is relevant, I usually just do a blurb and link to the blog in question. I think in terms of Feminocracy, I prefer more commentary. While I don’t think this is a beginner blog in terms of the concepts of feminism and intersectionality, I think that longer, more in depth commentary on articles and events provides a better context for beginners who are finding their way through these issues.

    For someone contributing, I wouldn’t expect an essay every time, nor would I expect just a list of links. I believe what I’m looking for are contributors who will fill in the blanks so to speak, or cover well tread ground with a new perspective. I think if this blog is going to be dedicated to the intersection of Feminism with all of the other social ills that affect women, it would do well to have contributors with different experiences and specialties.

    I always try to have some amount of commentary on stories, that’s something that I would definitely expect from any contributor. I like the atmosphere it creates wherein commentors can comment on not only the story but also on the authors thoughts. I think its a decent way to gain new perspectives and such and I don’t want to lose that aspect of the blog.

  7. I would be interested in cross posting as well as writing a few exclusive posts. I have written a few posts regarding homophobia. The other issue that I am dedicated to working with is class. I think that is missing in a lot of issues that are posted on the blogosphere and deeply effects our understanding of every day events. I recently wrote a post on motherhood and class and I think that this is a good example of what I am speaking about. Whenever possible I also like to link issues, for example this post, where I link gender identity and race. I believe in looking at as many sides of an issue as possible. I am a new blogger but if this at all interests you I would love to give it a shot.

  8. I guess I have to work on my html motherhood and class link to one post and the words “this post” link to the other….thanks
    Renee

  9. As an African-American Muslim woman, I would love to post, but I am also unsure of what I would have to contribute concerning the areas in question.


Leave a Reply

Categories

