Posted by: Ophelia | July 28, 2008

Everyone on the abstinence train

Starpulse reports:

Jordin SparksTeenage singer Jordin Sparks has vowed to remain a virgin until her wedding night.

The American Idol winner, 18, even wears a purity ring to show her dedication to her Christian beliefs. She says, “I don’t want to give away bits of my soul to lots of different guys – I want to give all of myself to the right man on the right night, and the right night is my wedding.”

“You can’t say for sure what’s going to happen in the next five years, but I really can’t see myself breaking my vow. My family would never let me get out of line and run wild.”

Sparks is the latest young star to promise her virginity to the person she weds – The Jonas Brothers and Miley Cyrus have also promised to stay pure and wear rings as a daily reminder of their vow.

I didn’t realize that my vagina was where my soul was held :/. Not to diss her decision, but shouldn’t it be hers and not for her family to decide? I mean if saving yourself for marriage is something you want, that’s great. But the overtones of “well my family wouldn’t let me do what I want anyway” is troubling. Then there’s the whole issue of everytime something penetrates your vagina apparently pieces of your soul go along with it. Does the same thing happen with masturbation? Does it not count if you give pieces of your soul to yourself? This rhetoric is confusing.

Responses

  1. “give away bits of my soul” WOW, that’s intense!

    So, following this line of thinking, does masturbation keep your soul intact? Or is that a problem too?

    The only thing worse than these young stars saying these things is them saying it publicly. Did they learn nothing from the Britney Spears fiasco?

  2. There really ought to be a moratorium on young stars proclaiming their pledges to abstinence. Frankly–it’s no ones business. Additionally, chances are more in favor of them failing than succeeding. Given the way the media salivates over that sort of thing, why open yourself up to it?

  3. My family would never let me get out of line and run wild.”

    I wouldn’t have a problem with her decision if it was based on her own agency but she clearly states that this is her families desire for her. Sex is a personal activity and should be decided upon by an individual not a community of people despite a blood relationship. This is control and policing of female sexuality. Does she think she would shoot a lightening rod out of her vagina should she become the “fallen woman”?

  4. No, I think her soul might escape from its vaginal carrying case if she allows herself to fall. Or..something.

  5. […] Remember Jordin Sparks from her comments on how she doesn’t want to give away bits of her soul? Well if you don’t wear a purity ring, not only are you apparently soulless but you’re […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

