Posted by: Ophelia | August 21, 2008

No, no, I’m not dead

Worse: I’m in law school. The past week + 3 days has actually been orientation, but they’ve had us going to legal methods class for four hours a day plus advisor lunches, meetings, and a get together with more prominent Philadelphia lawyers than you could shake a stick at. I’m oh so sleepy, but I really have been checking in and when I have the time I even comment in places around the feminist-blogosphere. I’m cooking up some posts about my experiences to be written when I find the time. Imagine a room full of obsessive type-a people all striving to impress both each other and the professor. You spent so much time sweating the details that sometimes you forget why you’re doing what you’re doing–it’s a lot like blogging that way. I’m happy to state that my school’s dedication to diversity wasn’t just smoke they were blowing. I met a professor whose focus was on the black power movement and the law’s involvement and another who focuses on the apparently neutral language of the law that excludes groups and the affect that has on their ability to move throughout society (swoon). I’m actually–dare I say it? Satisfied with the school and excited to start. I haven’t abandoned you though, so feel free to email me/im me. Chances are good that I’m online in class but just unable to post (professors seem to notice when you’re the only one typing once everyone else has stopped).

Responses

  1. Pay attention in class! 😉 We need good lawyers and law professionals dedicated to social change and equal rights! We’re all 100% behind you, and cheering you on!

  2. touche habladora, touche! hehehe


Leave a Reply

Categories

