Posted by: Allyson | October 23, 2008

Protest Pro-Rape Attitudes on Facebook

Genevieve of Une Femme Plus Courageuse routinely goes through the Pieces of Flair application on Facebook, and reports the pro-rape sentiments she finds there. Click here to read her entry on the newest pro-rape items.

Although I’m rarely on Facebook these days, it disgusts me to see this kind of stuff, so I reported it, saying the following:

I saw an image of the “Prevent Rape: Say Yes” linked to someone’s blog.  The blog owner is a Facebook user who is protesting the flair.  I also decided to protest it as well.  I found this particular piece by going to the Pieces of Flair app and typing “yes” into the search engine.  The “Prevent Rape: Say Yes” flair appears on the second page (as of 10/23/08). 

This piece of flare is demeaning, and it trivializes the experiences of rape survivors.  I have never been raped, but that doesn’t mean I lack empathy for people who have.  This piece of flair does not belong on Facebook, or anywhere for that matter.  It is disgusting and hateful.  By allowing it to remain in place, you insult rape survivors and anti-rape activists.

I would encourage everyone with a Facebook account to report the Pieces of Flair application for the pro-rape sentiments. (And other offensive sentiments as well). This is simply unacceptable.

Responses

  1. Done. I spent several minutes going through just the search results for “yes” on the application and found a few with this sentiment.

    Thanks for pointing this out.

  2. I recall hearing about the same application earlier in the year. No surprise they didn’t get rid of it, juvenile “college culture” bullshit abounds.

  3. I do that, too. Not only for Pieces of Flare, but for Bumper Stickers.

    It’s disgusting.

  4. Facebook has a lot of offensive sentiments. I have often thought of deleting my account. The dilemma is that it connects me to so many people that I want to stay in contact with.


Leave a Reply

Categories

