Posted by: Allyson | March 30, 2009

Calling Body-Positive Dancers in Austin, TX

Three weeks ago, I started dancing with the Body Positive Dance Company, a size-positive dance company in Austin, TX. This is a new group; they had their first performance three weeks ago, the weekend I first dropped in on a class. We currently have a number of upcoming performances around the Austin area. And even if you don’t want to join the performance team, you can take beginner or intermediate classes. This is currently a small-time, fledgling operation, but we’re working hard!

Even if you’ve never danced before, I’d recommend dropping it on a beginner class. Our choreographer/teacher is amazing. And our studio truly is a body-positive environment for EVERYONE. This is the kind of dance organization I have been looking for my entire life.

When I was younger, I dreamed of starting an all-sizes dance group. While I ended up not pursuing a dance career, I always wanted to see more body-positivity in the dance world. I’m thrilled that I found this group, and I encourage all Austin-area dancers to check us out.

Crossposted at This is What a Feminist Blogs Like.

Responses

  1. This is very very cool. A body positive dance company seems like a no brainer! there should be plenty out there… but i’m guessing there are not since it took you this long to find one? Good for you though! Have a blast!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

